Back to School

I only have a few minutes to write before yoga at 4:00. I’ve made it through the first two days of school and absolutely loved it! I was shocked when Emma and I were asked to supply first period, grade 7 on Tuesday morning, but it went well and was a great way to jump right into everything. I spent yesterday in a grade 3 class with a teacher from Brighton, Ontario learning the routines and ropes of her class. She was incredible and I left feeling so lucky to be learning from such amazing teachers. Today I was in grade 1 for most of the day and supplied the same grade 7 class as yesterday. The school is constantly amazing me. The school yard, the classrooms, the library and even the cafeterias are impressive. (Pictures to come).

My apartment is feeling more like a home. I went to Ikea, bit the bullet and bought a really nice new bedding set.. decided I didn’t like the first new one I bought. I got paint from HomePro, which is basically like a Home Depot, except better because they push your cart for you and help you get everything you need (mom, take notes..).

I finally got in the pool last night and tonight is yoga. It feels good to finally have some sort of a routine. I’ve been eating lunch at school, even though I wasn’t planning on it. It’s hard to resist when it is so cheap, healthy and convenient. Today I had a sushi roll for 45 baht, which is just over a dollar.

As much as I miss home and all of you, I haven’t really felt alone yet. I am always surrounded by other teachers and their kids. It seems like there is always someone who wants to head downtown Bangkok, go shopping, get a bite to eat or go for a walk. I was so happy to meet up with Kelsey, a friend from Trent / Queens, who is working at another international school downtown. We had a great dinner and it was so nice to see a familiar face from home! We talked a lot about our travel plans and I’ve started to think about writing a ‘Thailand Bucket List’ of all the things I want to do and see before I leave.

If anyone has any suggestions (Rob and Sue, I’m thinking of you), let me know! I have an entire week off in October and three weeks at Christmas! I’ll put together a list and post it on here!

Have to run,

Lots of love. xo

One thought on “Back to School

  1. Hi Laura. We are so happy for you that things are going along smoothly @ also you have fellow Canadians there as well. I always wanted to be a teacher @ now I wish I had gone back to school late in life @ become a teacher. What an experience you are having! I think I will go to Home Depot today @ get someone to push my cart(s)? Lol Can’t wait to see your decorating skills. Will ask some of our friends who have been in Thailand @ will get back to you. Take care @ be safe. Love Grant @ Marcia

    Like

Leave a Reply

