Same, Same but Different

In Thailand, I’ve learned that Thai people often use the phrase “same, same… but different” when talking to foreigners. It’s their way of saying “ya, it’s the same.. but it’s different.” For example, when I was looking at Rolex impression watch from a vendor in MBK, I pointed out a particular watch I wanted in her catalog. She handed me an identical watch which happened to be much bigger and said, “same, same.. but different.”

Urban Dictionary explains it quite well:

same same but different 292 up, 59 down
Used a lot in Thailand, especially in an attempts to sell something but can mean just about anything depending on what the user is trying to achieve.
Q “Is this a real rolex?”
A ” Yes Sir, same same but different”

Anyways, this has made me laugh.. and with some inspiration from a friend named Katie, I’ve decided to create a blog spot where I will share some of the things that are the same in Thailand, but just a littttle bit different than Canada.


Lays Chips… Seaweed Flavoured

Burgers… With Sticky Rice Patties

More to come I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

