Erawan Falls, Kanchanaburi

Image

Erawan National Park

Apologies in advance for the lack of blogging. I’ve been getting busier and busier (for those of you who know me really well know that I NEED to keep busy to function)! I am absolutely loving teaching, I’m getting used to the heat, I am madly in love with Thai food (especially Tom Yum Soup), I start Thai language classes next week (which is a must considering how terrible my Thai is), I just discovered Pinterest (don’t know how that didn’t happen sooner), I’ve been exercising every day and I am finally starting to do some traveling!

My first day trip was to Erawan Falls in Kanchanaburi, which is about 3 hours north of Bangkok. It took us closer to 4 hours to get there because our driver kept getting lost.. but the scenery was green, mountainous and beautiful so we didn’t mind. On the way we stopped at ‘The Bridge on the River Kwai’ where we had a delicious lunch buffet.

Image

Kari, Lari, Emma, James, David, Maureen, Katie, Kelsey and I!
Image

Built by Allied war prisoners in WWII for the Japanese to supply their army, this bridge became part of the ‘Death Railway’ form Thailand – Burma (this is not the original).

After spending so much time in the busy heart of Bangkok city and in our Nichada ‘bubble,’ it was so refreshing to hike and swim in the park. The falls have seven levels with paths along the side for hiking up. At some levels there are swimming holes with cool, blue water. There were so many fish swarming around us. They nibble on your fingers, toes and anywhere they can.. I was so surprised at how much I hated them. Apparently they use this kind of fish in spas to eat the dead skin off feet – totally gross.. I would never, ever pay money for that.

Image

Photo Credits: Emma Gedge
Image

Kelsey and I ready to jump in!
Image

Ew, spa fish. Yuck, yuck, yuck!

Yet another check off my list of things to do in Thailand! Looking forward to next weekend in Koh Samet!

2 thoughts on “Erawan Falls, Kanchanaburi

  1. Laura It looks so beautiful. So glad to hear and see that you are really enjoying yourself. You look great
    Diane xo

    Like

  2. Hi Laura:
    Beautiful scenery. Excercising is paying off – you have a beautiful body. You are very brave to go in with the spa fish. I know I would not have gone in the water. Be safe. Love Grant & Marcia xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

