Thanksgiving, Thai Style

One of the best parts about living in an international community is the exposure to so many different holidays and celebrations. At the end of November, ISB staff had an American Thanksgiving feast. There were so many turkeys, hams, different potato dishes, veggies, salads and desserts (by far the biggest pot luck  I’ve ever been to).

One of the teachers kicked off the evening with a toast, saying that no matter where we come from or where we’ve have been, what we believe in and what we celebrate, we can all find something about Thanksgiving that resonates with us. He challenged us to be more giving in our lives and to be thankful for what we have every single day. It was a wonderful toast, one that made me feel close to home even though I am so far away.

This year I am thankful for everyone in my life who has been so supportive of this adventure. I am thankful for the effort of my friends and family to keep in touch and help me feel connected to home. I am thankful for my amazing colleagues, who inspire me everyday and I am thankful for this entire experience, because it has opened my mind to the world.

One thought on “Thanksgiving, Thai Style

  1. I am thankful that you have kept in touch with us !! I am also thankful that you have so many wonderful new friends and colleagues in your life!! Can’t lie…. I am counting down the days until your home. Only 201!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

